We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

LGBT+ Lib Dems Six Saints for 2015 Header Image

The Lib Dems have the longest and proudest record of support and action for LGBT+ people. In the 2010 Parliament and Coalition Government, six Lib Dem MPs have raised the bar still further, and LGBT+ Lib Dems is proud to support their re-election campaigns for 2015. The six MPs are:

Lynne Featherstone

As the Lib Dem minister in charge of equalities at the start of this Parliament, Lynne was instrumental in delivering same-sex marriage for England and Wales, overseeing the public consultation into SSM. Lynne fought for same-sex marriage vigorously both in Parliament and in the media, making the case in the face of strenuous opposition. She also oversaw police forces being required to collect data on transphobic crimes. Before Government as our equalities spokesperson, Lynne called for legal protection for trans people based on identity rather than surgical status or intention.

Julian Huppert

Julian tabled amendments to the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill for mixed-sex civil partnerships in line with Lib Dem policy. He also tabled amendments to remove the Spousal Veto that stops trans people obtaining full gender recognition, and to restore confiscated marriages under the Gender Recognition Act.

Stephen Gilbert

Plus VP Stephen has been a vocal advocate of equal marriage, famously telling Stonewall in 2010 that it was their job to lobby him on the issue, not the other way round. He was on the same-sex marriage bill committee.

John Leech

As Lib Dem spokesperson for Culture, Media & Sport, John Leech has led the fight against homophobia in sport. He's submitted Early Day Motions on the issue, for which he was commended by Total Politics magazine. John has also led the campaign for a pardon for Alan Turing in Parliament, alongside Lib Dem peer Lord Sharkey.

Jo Swinson

The new Lib Dem Minister for Women & Equalities has kept LGBT+ equality at the forefront of Government with regular updates on progress against the LGBT Action Plan.

Stephen Williams

Once our only out gay MP, Plus VP Stephen was nominated for "Politician of the Year" in the 2006 Stonewall awards. A vocal supporter of same-sex marriage, he was on the same-sex marriage bill committee.


As part of our campaign we are soliciting one-off or monthly donations to sustain our financial support to these key individuals. Please use the PayPal button below to donate.