We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Second award for Lynne

November 6, 2014 8:35 PM
Lynne Featherstone - London Pride 2010

Lynne Featherstone MP

Lynne Featherstone MP has been named Stonewall's 'Politician of the Year' at their annual awards event in London this evening. It was awarded jointly to Lynne and to former MEP Michael Cashman.

It recognises her work across the past four and a half years in government to promote LGBT rights both at home and abroad, and beforehand championing LGBT causes when the last government were unwilling to listen such as on transgender people's rights.

The MP for Hornsey and Wood Green was the architect of the Same-Sex Marriage law during her time as minister for equalities in the Home Office, and until this week was working in the Department for International Development pressing the agenda on the global stage. In this week's mini-reshuffle she moved back to the Home Office.

It is the first time the award has been given to an MP who is not from the Labour or Conservative parties.