We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dem MSP nominated for gay award

September 22, 2007 9:00 PM

Days ago it was Bristol MP Stephen Williams - now it's the turn of North East Fife MSP Iain Smith! Iain has been shortlisted for Stonewall's "Politician of the Year" award, to be presented on 1st November, thanks to his key role in furthering the cause of equality in the Scottish Parliament.

"I'm proud and delighted to be nominated for the Stonewall Politician of the Year Award," he told PinkNews.co.uk yesterday

"Taking the bill to modernise the adoption process - including making provision for same-sex couples to jointly adopt children - through the Scottish Parliament was a difficult and daunting task.

"A shrinking but vocal minority of people are still prejudiced against all matters relating to homosexuality and this prejudice was encouraged by the reactionary articles that appeared in some sections of the press."

The shortlist for the award this year is: Iain Smith, Peter Hain, Eleanor Laing, Alan Johnson, Angela Eagle and Lord Waheed Alli.